How do alcohols react with oxidising agents?

Primary alcohol gets easily oxidized to an aldehyde and can further be oxidized to carboxylic acids too. Secondary alcohol gets easily oxidized to ketone but further oxidation is not possible. Tertiary alcohol doesn't get oxidized in the presence of sodium dichromate.