Why is the colorado river drying up?

The Southwest has been plagued by drought for the past ten years, the Colorado River has been particularly low. The ill effects of dams, agriculture, and climate change have significantly diminished the once-powerful river, raising concern as the Colorado River is the "Lifeline of the Southwest.