Does hot or cold water get rid of bacteria?

Both hot and cold water can be used to wash bacteria off of surfaces. Warm water is more effective on hands because the pores of the skin open slightly, allowing more thorough cleaning. Bacteria in water can also be effectively reduced by boiling.