How to microwave a sweet potato?

Clean sweet potatoes under running water Pierce the sweet potato skin with a fork 5 to 6 times. Place the sweet potatoes on a microwave-safe plate and microwave for 5-10 minutes and add two minutes for each additional potato—rotating them halfway through. You are done microwaving