How do you melt iron?

Iron is melted using one of two methods: a cupola, which is a cylindrical shaft furnace; or an electric melt furnace. All but two of our foundry locations use a cupola to melt iron, which pushes air at supersonic speeds into a base fuel of coke to drive temperatures up to 2,800 degrees Fahrenheit.