Tell me what happened during world war two?

World War 2 was the largest armed conflict in history. The conflict pitted the United States, the Soviet Union, Great Britain and other nations against Nazi Germany, its allies and the Empire of Japan. The conflict lasted from 1939 until 1945 and cost the lives of more than 60 million people.