How does bitcoin work?

Bitcoin is a virtual currency, which means it doesn't exist outside of a computer. People speculate on the value of Bitcoin just as they speculate on the value of any physical product or stock. Just as with the physical products, the value of Bitcoin goes up and down as it is bought and sold.