Can you get a doctorate in engineering?

Yes, you can get a doctorate in engineering. It can be a Doctorate in Engineering, an E-n-g D, or a PhD. Both are considered the final degree in engineering. Some sources view them as interchangeable, while some see the E-n-g D as a professional degree, with an engineering PhD emphasizing research.