What's the difference between quartz and marble?

Quartz is a mineral while marble is a rock. A mineral is a crystalline object that has the same chemical makeup in all parts. Marble is a metamorphic rock. This means it was formed over millions of years from another rock. In the case of marble, the original rock was limestone.