What kind of car is chitty chitty bang bang?

The car itself was based on a composite of two cars: Fleming's own Standard Tourer, which he had driven in Switzerland in the late 1920s, and Chitty Bang Bang, a chain-driven customized Mercedes with a 23-litre 6-cylinder Maybach aero-engine.