Why do people clean their rooms?

People clean their rooms to prevent dirt and other debris, which includes bits of skin and hair cells, from accumulating and causing unpleasant odors as well as attracting insects that thrive on the debris. Keeping rooms clean also cuts down on the chances of allergic reactions to the dirt and bugs.