What's the world record for the mile time?

Hicham El Guerrouj is the current men's record holder for the Imperial mile with his time of 3:43.13, while Sifan Hassan has the women's record of 4:12.33. In the Olympics, a mile almost always refers to 1500 m, even though four full laps around the track is 1600 m, making it shorter than a mile.