Is the sun a ball of fire?

No. The sun is a ball of plasma that derives it's energy from nuclear fusion, not fire which is a chemical process.

---

The sun isn't made of fire, and though it's extremely hot it is not technically “on fire.” It's a ball of superheated gas and plasma (mostly made up of hydrogen and helium), with some of the atoms inside it constantly undergoing nuclear fusion.