Why was the plague called the black death?

At the time of the pandemic that ravaged Europe between 1347 and 1351, it was called pestis, or pestilentia, 'pestilence'; epidemia, or 'epidemic'; and mortalitas, or 'mortality'. It wasn't called the Black Death until the 1750s and that term is sometimes used to describe the Black Plague.