How do you measure the size of a diamond?

1 carat diamond weighs 0.20 grams. Contrary to popular belief, the carat is not the size of the diamond. A diamond's size is measured in millimeters, length by width. In other words, the diameter of the diamond. It typically takes about 250 tons of rock mining to produce a single 1 carat diamond.