What does the beaufort scale measure?

The Beaufort scale is a scale for measuring wind speeds. It's based on observation rather than accurate measurement. It's the most widely used system to measure wind speed today.

---

Beaufort Wind Scale is one of the first scales to estimate wind speeds and effects. Created by Britain's Admiral Sir Francis Beaufort in 1805 to help sailors estimate the winds via visual observations. The scale starts with 0 and goes to a force of 12.