What is a box troll?

Its a movie about Eggs. Orphaned at infancy, he was raised by Boxtrolls, underground dwellers who scavenge the streets of Cheesebridge by night. A surprise encounter with a human girl leads to unexpected discoveries about his mysterious past and his imprisoned real father.