Why was there a vietnam war?

Cold War, US fear of South-east Asia becoming Communist. The US and USSR could not directly fight each other due to Nuclear Weapons, So both sides had other Countries fighting as proxies, Since the US had their forces in Vietnam, USSR could only help through a third party China