Do you mine aluminum?

Aluminum does not exist in nature as a metallic element. Various aluminum compounds are contained in substantial concentrations in the rock mineral bauxite. Bauxite is mined and metallic aluminum is derived from the bauxite by electrolysis after a series of other refining steps.