How to cook an artichoke?

Bring water and salt to a boil. There should be enough water to cover the artichoke. Add artichoke to the water, reduce to a simmer, cover and cook until the leaves can be easily pulled off, about 20 to 35 minutes depending on the size. Drain and cool before eating.