Which snack was invented by an italian monk?

Most sources agree that the pretzel was invented by an Italian monk in the year 610 A.D. According to The History of Science and Technology, the monk baked strips of dough that he folded into a shape resembling a child crossing its arms in prayer.

---

Italian monks (according to some sources) invented the pretzel which was a reward for children learning their prayers.