Where did the karen terrier originate?

The name is spelled Cairn. A Cairn Terrier is relatively small dog, with a long coat and good disposition. They were developed in the Scottish highlands as vermin hunters. Cairn are piles of stones erected in the hills for any number of reasons, and they usually serve as landmarks.