What is the history of jacksonville florida?

Jacksonville has been inhabited by humans since around 2500 BC. The Mocama tribe settled there and were there when Europeans began exploring in the 16th Century. France first discovered the area, then the Spanish and British took over. The town was settled in 1821 by Americans.