Why was louis armstrong called satchmo?

As a young boy in New Orleans, Armstrong would dance for pennies. He scooped the coins off the street and stuck them into his mouth to prevent bigger children from stealing them. Someone dubbed him "satchel mouth" for his mouth acting as a satchel, which was later shortened to Satchmo.