Does the united states govern the bahamas?

No, the Commonwealth of the Bahamas is a country within the Lucayan Archipelago in the Caribbean. It consists of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets. The Bahamas became an independent Commonwealth realm in 1973 with Elizabeth II as its queen.