What area code is four oh eight?

The 408 area code currently includes Santa Clara County south of Sunnyvale and Cupertino, and small portions of Alameda, Santa Cruz, and Stanislaus Counties. Most of the 408 area code is contained within the San Jose Metropolitan Statistical Area.