What are the jokers for in a deck of cards?

In a standard deck, there are usually two Jokers. The Joker's use varies greatly. Many card games omit the card entirely; as a result, Jokers are often used as informal replacements for lost or damaged cards in a deck by simply noting the lost card's rank and suit on the joker.

---

The Joker was added to the standard 52 card deck in the United States after the Civil War. When Euchre players of the time made up new rules for their game they needed an extra trump card. American card printers added the Joker for this purpose, and to sell more card decks of course.