Is a pint a pound?

Roughly. A pint is 16 fluid oz. A pound is 16 oz. Water weighs just over 8 pounds per gallon, making a pint of water weigh about one pound. The actual weight of a pint of a substance depends on it's density. It is handy for remembering how many oz. are in a pint so can used in other conversions