How do you take the bitterness out of sauce?

You can add a small amount of sugar or cook the sauce with a peeled whole carrot to impart some natural sweetness. When the sauce is done, discard the carrot.

---

Heat one cup of sauce with a 1/4-teaspoon baking soda. Baking soda neutralizes acidity. Taste the sauce, add tiny amounts of baking soda to see if it mellows the acidity. If there is still an edge, swirl in a teaspoon of butter, letting it melt until creamy.