Why is a nickname called a nickname?

A nickname is a form of a standard fully spelled out name that’s been “nicked,” or shortened, to become a “nicked” or shortened form of a name. For example, Steven is Steve, Theodore is Ted, Alfred is Al, Veronica is Ronnie, Margaret is Meg Marge, or Margie, Kathleen becomes Kathy, Ezekiel is Zeb.