How fast is sound travel?

The speed of sound in dry air at room temperature and sea-level atmospheric pressure is approximately 1,235 kilometers per hour, or 767 miles per hour. That is equivalent to traveling the distance of a kilometer in 2.9 seconds, or a mile in 4.7 seconds.