Why do we have turkey on thanksgiving?

Turkey has traditionally been associated with the spirit of giving and abundance. The turkey is native to North America and would be a fitting choice for a thanksgiving feast in the U.S. the pilgrim’s first harvest celebration had four wild turkeys that were eaten.