Is sea salt the same as kosher salt?

No, they are not the same. While they are each large flakes of sodium chloride, there are a few key differences. Sea salt crystals are not quite as big as kosher salt crystals. Kosher’s flakes have large surface areas while sea salt has a pyramid shape.

---

Yes, for cooking purpose, kosher salt and sea salt are the same. Kosher salt earned its name from it's original purpose to kosher meat. It has nothing to do with kosher dietary guidelines. Sea salt is directly evaporated from seawater.