Is sea salt the same as kosher salt?

No, they are not the same. While they are each large flakes of sodium chloride, there are a few key differences. Sea salt crystals are not quite as big as kosher salt crystals. Kosher’s flakes have large surface areas while sea salt has a pyramid shape.