What is the turtle club?

The Ancient and Honorable Order of Turtles ("Turtle Club") started as an informal "drinking club" between American World War II pilots, described as "an honorable drinking fraternity composed of ladies and gentlemen of the highest morals and good character, who are never vulgar."