What does a.m. stand for time?

The 12-hour system divides the 24 hours of a day into two periods lasting 12 hours each. The first 12-hour period is designated as AM. It runs from midnight to noon. The abbreviations AM and PM are derived from the Latin: AM which = Ante meridiem: Before noon and PM which = Post meridiem: After noon

---

If you are referring to time, the term A.M. stands for ante meridiem which means before midday. If however you are referring to the radio, the term A.M. stands for Amplitude Modulation which means the strength of the radio signal is adjusted to provide the sound.

---

according to wikipedia.org,It is not always clear what times "12:00 a.m." and "12:00 p.m." denote. From the Latin words meridies (midday), ante (before) and post (after), the term ante meridiem (a.m.) means before midday and post meridiem (p.m.) means after midday.