What happens if a dog eats raw chicken?

Chicken is a great source of protein for dogs, and it's exactly the sort of food your dog would be eating in the wild. Some vets warn against raw chicken because of the risk of salmonella or other bacterial contamination. For that reason, cooked chicken is safer.