Why was franklin d. roosevelt president for twelve years?

Unlike 2day, there was not a law 2 prohibit a president 2 be elected for more than 2 terms; in Franklin Roosevelt's case, in spite of the hatred that wealthy people still have for him, Franklin Roosevelt was a good president. He cared 4 people, was able 2 rally the country in the direst of times