Do geckos hibernate?

Like most other non-avian reptiles, geckos derive their heat externally; in cold temperatures, their internal processes slow down and they cannot move quickly enough to capture prey or escape predators. To cope with this, geckos retreat to somewhere safe and lay low until warm temperatures return.