Why does the moon rise?

Moonrise happens when the Earth has rotated enough on its own axis that the Moon has appeared in your personal sky - your horizon has caught up with the Moon. When exactly that happens is a combination of the Earth's rapid rotation, and the Moon's continual motion through the skies.