What's the difference between garlic and elephant garlic?

Elephant garlic is milder, and with a slightly different flavor, than regular garlic. Also, a head of conventional garlic can contain up to 20 small cloves. A head of elephant garlic, however, will contain no more than six cloves that are much larger than cloves of true garlic.