Why does a dog have a dewclaw?

At high speeds (especially when turning) or on slippery surfaces, these dewclaws provide extra traction and help stabilize the wrist joint. Some dogs also use their dewclaws to help them climb trees, hold objects to better chew on them, or climb out of the water if they've broken through ice.