Why do dogs like to chase squirrels?

They are driven by the scent of the animal they are chasing and an innate prey drive response. ... In some cases, long after the squirrel has disappeared, your dog will carry on the chase just because he still smells the scent of the squirrel. The hound group of dogs is especially scent driven.

---

Dogs are predators and squirrels are a type of prey favored by dogs.