What's a heavy machine gun?

A heavy machine gun is a belt-fed machine gun that fires full-powered/magnum cartridges and is designed to be significantly larger than light, medium or general-purpose machine guns. As the name implies, they are typically not man-portable by infantry and thus require mounting onto a platform