What can you tell me about monkey pox?

According to the CDC, Monkeypox was first discovered in 1958 when 2 outbreaks of a pox-like disease occurred in colonies of monkeys kept for research -- hence the name. The first human case of monkeypox was recorded in 1970 in the Congo in Africa.