What is rocket surgery?

The "rocket surgery" term is a blend of two expressions: "rocket science" and "brain surgery". All 3 are referring to a task requiring intelligence or higher education. It's being commonly used in negative constructions, like “It's not rocket surgery”, while referring to something simple or trivial.