How many hours a day does a newborn baby sleep?

They rack up lots of sleep overall, averaging 16-18 hours a day during the first two weeks. Yet they awaken frequently, and rarely sleep more than 4 hours at a stretch, even at night. Their internal clocks aren't yet synchronized with the external, 24-hour day.