What are your chances of being struck by lightning?

The odds of becoming a lightning victim in the U.S. in any one year is 1 in 700,000. The odds of being struck in your lifetime is 1 in 3,000.

---

The odds of being struck by lightning in your lifetime are actually 1 in 15,300, according to the most recent data from the National Weather Service. The odds of being struck in a given year are 1 in 1,222,000.