What is the molly empire?

According to nationalgeographic.com, the Mali Empire was established by King Sundiata Keita, known as the “Lion King,” the Mali Empire brought wealth, culture, and Islamic faith to West Africa. It existed from the thirteenth to the seventeenth century.