What's in a blister?

A blister can contain lymph, serum, plasma, blood, or pus.

---

The blister is formed from the epidermis, the uppermost layer of skin. Its purpose is to protect and cushion the layers below. Blisters can be filled with serum, plasma, blood or pus depending on how and where they are formed. This stops further damage and gives the tissue time to heal.