Who started nine one one?

AT&T and the Federal Communications Commission in 1967

---

In 1967 the Federal Communications Commission met with AT&T to establish an emergency number. They wanted a number that was short and easy to remember, and unique. Since 9 1 1 had never been designated for an office code, area code, or service code, that was the number they chose.